Papa John's Franchise Cost 2026: Fees, Investment, and Earnings
A 2026 breakdown of the Papa John's franchise cost: total investment of $281,485 to $890,267, the franchise fee, ongoing fees, and what restaurants actually earn.
Chris Reeves
Franchise Analyst
How Much Does a Papa John's Franchise Cost in 2026
If you are weighing a pizza franchise, the first question is always the money. Based on the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, the total initial investment to open a Papa John's runs from $281,485 to $890,267. That wide range reflects real estate, build-out, equipment, signage, and opening inventory, all of which swing hard depending on your market and restaurant format. On top of that sits the initial franchise fee, which ranges from $5,000 to $25,000. This guide breaks down what you actually pay, what ongoing fees to expect, and, most importantly, what the numbers say Papa John's restaurants earn.
Papa John's Franchise Fee and What It Covers
The initial franchise fee is your entry ticket. For Papa John's it falls between $5,000 and $25,000, with the exact figure depending on the deal structure and any incentive programs in place when you sign the franchise agreement. That fee grants you the right to operate a restaurant at a specific location and to use the "Better Pizza" brand. Papa John's also provides initial training through its certified training program, so a new franchisee and their management team learn restaurant operations before opening day. Training generally takes several weeks to complete, and the principal operator is expected to take part in training directly.
Total Investment Breakdown to Start a Papa John's
The full range of $281,485 to $890,267 covers everything you need to open the doors. Higher-end costs usually come from prime retail leases, larger dine-in formats, and markets with expensive construction. Lower-end costs land closer to a compact delivery and carry-out unit. Papa John's is built around delivery and carry-out with some take-out and dine-in, and that lean footprint is part of why the cost to open a Papa John's can start below $300,000. As with any brand, you also need working capital to carry the restaurant through its first months of operation.
Ongoing Fees: Royalty Fee and Marketing Fee
Your upfront investment is only part of the picture. Like nearly every franchise, Papa John's charges a continuing royalty fee and a marketing fee calculated as a percentage of sales. The exact percentages, along with technology fees and other recurring charges, are spelled out in Item 6 of the FDD. Before you sign anything, read Item 6 line by line so you understand the true monthly cost of running the restaurant, not just the cost of opening it. These ongoing fees directly shape your profit margins over the life of the franchise agreement.
What Papa John's Franchise Owners Make
This is where Papa John's gives you real numbers to work with. The 2026 FDD Item 19 reports 2025 net sales for 2,837 standard domestic restaurants. Average 2025 net sales came in at $1,124,305, with a median of $1,068,453. Individual restaurants ranged from $266,003 to $3,497,308 in annual sales, and 44.6% of restaurants met or exceeded the average. Papa John's operates roughly 3,294 units in the system.
One critical caveat: these are net sales, not profit. The FDD does not disclose costs, margins, or what franchise owners make after expenses. Revenue is not earnings. Two restaurants with identical sales can post very different bottom lines once labor, rent, food cost, and royalties are subtracted. Use the sales figures as a starting point, then build your own model.
Is a Papa John's Franchise Worth It?
Papa John's is a globally known pizza chain with a proven delivery-first model, published sales data, and a structured training program. The average net sales figure north of a million dollars is genuinely useful for a prospective franchise owner, because many brands disclose nothing at all. The honest answer on whether it is worth it depends on your location, your capital, and your ability to run tight operations. Strong operators in good markets can do well. The published range also shows that plenty of units land well below the average, so a Papa John's franchise is not a guaranteed win. Do the work before you commit.
Get the Full Papa John's FDD
Numbers in a blog post are a starting point, not due diligence. To see the complete fee schedule, territory rules, and the full Item 19, read the source document. Start with our Papa John's brand profile for the at-a-glance view, then pull the actual disclosure from our FDD database and compare it against other franchise opportunities before you decide.
How much does it cost to open a Papa John's franchise?
The total initial investment ranges from $281,485 to $890,267 according to the 2026 FDD, plus an initial franchise fee of $5,000 to $25,000.
What is the Papa John's franchise fee?
The initial franchise fee ranges from $5,000 to $25,000, depending on the deal structure and any incentive programs available when you sign.
How much do Papa John's restaurants make?
Per the 2026 FDD Item 19, average net sales across 2,837 standard domestic restaurants were $1,124,305 with a median of $1,068,453. These are sales, not profit, and Papa John's does not disclose costs or margins.
How many Papa John's locations are there?
Papa John's operates roughly 3,294 units, making it one of the larger pizza franchise systems worldwide.
Does Papa John's disclose profit?
No. The FDD reports net sales only. It does not disclose profit, operating costs, or margins, so you should build your own financial model before investing.
